OpenTable Alternatives in the UK: 7 Options Compared
OpenTable does not publish UK prices. Compare ResDiary, resOS, Tablein, TheFork, SevenRooms, Eat App and TablePort, with verified prices and how to switch.
By the TablePort teamFacts checked 7 min read
The main OpenTable alternatives in the UK are ResDiary, resOS, Tablein, TheFork Manager, SevenRooms, Eat App and TablePort. Which one fits depends on whether you still need a marketplace to bring in new diners (TheFork and OpenTable do that, and the others mostly do not) or just want to run your own bookings for a flat fee. OpenTable does not publish UK prices for its Core and Pro plans, so the comparison below uses each vendor's own price page, checked in October 2026.
This is a roundup of options. For a direct, feature-by-feature view of one product against OpenTable, see our TablePort vs OpenTable comparison.
What OpenTable does well, and why operators look elsewhere
OpenTable's real strength is its diner network. A listing puts your tables in front of people already searching, and its UK plans page lists review management, 100+ booking integrations, Google's "Reserve a table" button, digital advertising, Experiences, deposits and credit card holds, Smart Assign table management, an in-house and online waitlist, POS integration and the DineCall phone service.
The reasons operators look elsewhere are usually commercial:
- No published price. Core and Pro both say "Contact us for pricing".
- Cover fees on network diners. You pay per seated cover for diners who find you through OpenTable's website, app or affiliate network.
- A one-year contract. It auto-renews annually, and you must tell OpenTable 30 days before the renewal date if you do not want to continue.
- Add-ons. Premium SMS Messaging is listed at £19 a month on Core.
To be fair, the plans page also says website bookings, phone bookings and walk-ins are not charged, and that you only pay for seated diners, never for no-shows or cancellations.
OpenTable pricing as listed in October 2026
OpenTable's UK plans page shows no prices for Core or Pro. The only sterling figure is the £19 a month Premium SMS add-on (the page does not say whether that is ex or inc VAT). Ask OpenTable for a written quote, including your cover fee.
What the page does confirm:
| Term | As listed |
|---|---|
| Plans | Core and Pro, both "Contact us for pricing" |
| Cover fees | Only for diners found via OpenTable's website, app or affiliate network, and only when seated |
| Website, phone, walk-in | No fee |
| Contract | One year, auto-renewing, 30 days' notice before renewal |
Illustrative cost, not a quote: if your agreed network fee were £1.50 a cover and OpenTable sent you 200 seated covers a month, that would be £300 a month on top of the subscription. Ask for your fee in writing and multiply it by your last three months of network covers.
Seven OpenTable alternatives
ResDiary
Suits: established UK restaurants, hotels and groups.
Pricing: £109, £145, £205 or £295 a month plus VAT by booking cap (150, 450, 1,000, unlimited), a £99 set-up fee and paid add-ons. No commission. Our ResDiary alternatives guide covers it in detail.
Strengths: pre-orders, SMS, group tools, Reserve with Google and Meta, and a DesignMyNight link for pubs and bars.
Limitations: add-ons and the set-up fee push the real cost up, and its diner listings come through DesignMyNight rather than a marketplace of its own.
resOS
Suits: small independents that want to pay as little as possible.
Pricing: a free plan (25 bookings a month), then £39, £79 and £119 a month by booking volume, as listed on resOS's pricing page. No commission or cover fees.
Strengths: low cost, a 90-day money-back guarantee, personal support.
Limitations: booking only, and features such as Google booking and deposits are paid add-ons.
Tablein
Suits: venues that want a flat fee and a free trial.
Pricing: from £60 a month (50 reservations, then €0.67 each) to £157 for unlimited, as listed in October 2026 (the page does not state whether VAT is included). 14-day free trial, no minimum term.
Strengths: all features on every plan, no set-up fees.
Limitations: overage charges above the included reservations make costs less predictable.
TheFork Manager
Suits: venues that want a diner marketplace similar to OpenTable's, with listings across Europe.
Pricing: no published prices. TheFork's page lists three plans (Visibility, Performance, Enterprise) as "Ask for pricing", with a fee based on a percentage of the average bill per guest for bookings from TheFork, Tripadvisor and partners. Website, Instagram and Facebook bookings are included. See our TheFork alternatives guide.
Limitations: the commission scales with your average bill, and card guarantees are not on the entry plan.
SevenRooms
Suits: larger restaurants, bars, hotels and groups.
Pricing: three packages with no published price. The pricing page states a one-time set-up fee, a transaction fee on pre-sales taken through its widgets, and no reservation fees. See our SevenRooms comparison.
Limitations: quote-only pricing, and its FAQ says onboarding takes "a few weeks".
Eat App
Suits: venues that want guest profiles, WhatsApp messaging and AI tools.
Pricing: approximate sterling prices of about £74, £150 and £290 a month, lower on annual billing, plus a free plan limited to 100 guests a month and a 14-day trial.
Limitations: conversions are approximate and messaging is capped by plan.
TablePort
Suits: restaurants that want reservations, POS, kitchen display, QR order and pay and stock in one system, with no cover fees on any booking.
Pricing: Reservations at £49 per location per month ex VAT, POS from £49, a 30-day free trial with no card, and month-to-month billing on 30 days' notice. No set-up fees.
Limitations: TablePort is a newer company, has a much smaller diner network than OpenTable or TheFork, and has no consumer marketplace. If new-diner discovery is why you pay OpenTable, TablePort does not replace that.
Comparison table
| Entry price | Cover or commission fee | Marketplace | Contract | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenTable | Not published | Per seated network cover | Yes | One year, auto-renews |
| ResDiary | £109 a month + VAT | None | Via DesignMyNight | Check order form |
| resOS | Free, then £39 a month | None | No | Cancel anytime on paid plans |
| Tablein | £60 a month | Overage per extra reservation | Local guides | No minimum term |
| TheFork Manager | Not published | % of average bill on network bookings | Yes | Not stated |
| SevenRooms | Not published | None on reservations | Lists DoorDash and Deliveroo marketplace users (Starter) | Not stated |
| Eat App | Free, then about £74 a month | None listed | No | Not stated |
| TablePort | £49 a month ex VAT | None | No | Monthly, 30 days' notice |
How to switch from OpenTable
- Find your renewal date. With a one-year auto-renewing contract, the 30-day notice window is the deadline that matters. Put it in the diary now.
- Decide what discovery you will replace. If OpenTable sends a meaningful share of covers, estimate it from your last three months before you leave. Google bookings, your own site and a second marketplace can fill part of the gap.
- Export guests and future bookings. Ask for a guest list with notes, tags and visit history, and every confirmed booking for the next three months. Check which diner details you are entitled to keep, and carry only opted-in marketing contacts. The ICO's marketing guidance sets out the rules.
- Honour existing bookings. Bookings already made through OpenTable will not disappear. Import them into the new system or keep OpenTable live until those dates pass.
- Move the booking links. Replace the OpenTable widget on your website, Google Business Profile and Instagram, and brief the team on where the book now lives.
- If you swap your POS too, check how the new reservation system connects to it. TablePort imports your future bookings and guest profiles while you stay live on the old system until you choose the switch-over night.
Frequently asked questions
- How much does OpenTable cost in the UK?
OpenTable does not publish sterling prices for its Core and Pro plans. As of October 2026 its UK plans page says "Contact us for pricing", with a £19 a month Premium SMS add-on and cover fees on diners found through its network.
- Does OpenTable charge per cover in the UK?
Only for diners who discover you through OpenTable's website, app or affiliate network, according to its plans page. Bookings from your own website, phone bookings and walk-ins are not charged, and you pay only for seated diners.
- Is there a free alternative to OpenTable?
resOS offers a free plan for up to 25 bookings a month, and Eat App lists a free plan limited to 100 guests a month. Both are small allowances, so see our free restaurant booking system guide for what to expect.
- Can I keep OpenTable and use another booking system?
Some operators do, using OpenTable for discovery and another system for their own book. Check how the two sync, because double bookings are the usual risk.
- How long is the OpenTable contract?
The standard contract is one year and auto-renews annually. You must tell OpenTable 30 days before the renewal date if you do not want it to renew.
- Which alternative has a diner network like OpenTable?
TheFork also runs a consumer marketplace, ResDiary connects to DesignMyNight for bars and pubs, and SevenRooms lists access to DoorDash and Deliveroo marketplace users on its Starter package. Most others focus on running your own bookings.