ResDiary Alternatives for UK Restaurants: 7 Options and Pricing

ResDiary costs £109 to £295 a month plus VAT. Compare resOS, Tablein, Eat App, SevenRooms, OpenTable and TablePort, with verified prices and how to switch.

By the Facts checked 8 min read

The main ResDiary alternatives for UK restaurants are resOS and Tablein for low-cost booking-only systems, Eat App and SevenRooms for guest-data-heavy venues, OpenTable if you want its diner network, and TablePort if you want reservations and the till in one system. ResDiary's own price list runs from £109 to £295 a month plus VAT, with a £99 set-up fee, so most of the saving comes from how many bookings you take and which add-ons you actually use. Prices below were checked on each vendor's own site in October 2026.

What ResDiary does well, and why operators look elsewhere

ResDiary is a UK booking system that is part of The Access Group. Its pricing page lists commission-free bookings, AI no-show risk prediction, pre-ordering with allergen details, queue management with SMS updates, group cross-selling, and booking through Reserve with Google and Meta. It also connects to DesignMyNight, which ResDiary says reaches up to 3.9 million users a month (a vendor claim we have not tested).

Operators usually look elsewhere for four reasons:

  • Plans are capped by bookings. The three lower tiers stop at 150, 450 and 1,000 bookings a month, so a busy venue moves up a tier quickly.
  • Useful features are paid add-ons. Pre-orders, gift vouchers, ResPhone and Event Manager are £35 a month each. SMS, POS integration and CRM are £10 each.
  • A one-off £99 set-up fee applies on top of the first month.
  • Payment surcharges. ResDiary adds 1.2% on deposits and payments and 3% on gift vouchers, plus Stripe fees.

None of that makes it a poor product. It means the headline price is rarely the bill you pay.

ResDiary pricing as listed in October 2026

All prices are per venue, ex VAT, from ResDiary's UK pricing page.

PlanMonthlyAnnualBookings per month
Evo Connect£109£1,308Up to 150
Evo Express£145£1,450Up to 450
Evo Pro£205£2,050Up to 1,000
Evo Ultimate£295£2,950Unlimited

The page tags annual billing as two months free on three of the plans, although Connect's listed annual figure equals twelve months at the monthly price, so ask what you would actually pay. A £99 set-up fee applies. The page does not state a minimum term or notice period, and ResDiary's product terms say termination follows its Core Terms, with notice sent by email, so read your order form before you decide.

A realistic bill: a restaurant taking 400 bookings a month on Evo Express with pre-orders (£35), SMS (£10) and a POS integration (£10) pays £200 a month plus VAT, and £99 once at the start.

Seven ResDiary alternatives compared

resOS

Suits: small independents, cafes and pubs that want a simple booking book and the lowest monthly cost.

Pricing model: flat monthly fee by booking volume, no commission or per-cover fees. As listed in sterling on resOS's pricing page: Free (25 bookings a month), Basic £39 (350 bookings), Plus £79 (750), Unlimited £119. Annual billing works out at £31, £62 and £93 a month. The page does not say whether VAT is included. Add-ons are extra, for example Reserve with Google at £6.99 a month and online payments and deposits at £9.99 a month.

Strengths: a genuine free tier, all core features on every plan, a 90-day money-back guarantee on paid plans, and personal support.

Limitations: booking only, so no till, stock or rota. Several features you may expect (Google booking, deposits, waitlist) are paid add-ons.

Tablein

Suits: venues that want one flat price per restaurant and a free trial.

Pricing model: subscription plus a per-reservation charge above the included allowance. From Tablein's pricing page, billed monthly per restaurant (the page does not say whether VAT is included): Starter £60 (50 reservations, then €0.67 each), Growth £105 (150 reservations, then €0.37 each), Success £157 (unlimited). The page's FAQ quotes €0.30 for extra Growth reservations, so confirm the rate in writing. A 14-day free trial needs no card, and there is no minimum term.

Strengths: all features on every plan, no set-up fees, and no commission on bookings from Google Reserve.

Limitations: the per-reservation overage makes bills harder to predict. On the listed euro prices (€117 Growth plus €0.37 per extra reservation against €177 Success), Success becomes cheaper than Growth once you pass about 310 reservations a month.

Eat App

Suits: venues that want guest profiles, WhatsApp messaging and AI tools alongside reservations.

Pricing model: tiered monthly plans. Eat App's pricing page shows approximate sterling figures: Lite about £74, Core about £150 and Pro about £290 a month, lower on yearly billing, with a free plan limited to 100 guests a month. It offers a 14-day free trial, and POS and payment integrations are listed at about £29 a month extra on the lower plans.

Strengths: unlimited guests on paid plans and a broad guest-experience feature set.

Limitations: the sterling prices are approximate conversions, and the messaging allowances are capped per plan.

SevenRooms

Suits: larger restaurants, hotels and groups that want deep guest marketing and revenue tools.

Pricing model: three packages, with no prices published. Its pricing page says there is a one-time set-up fee, a transaction fee on pre-sales taken through its widgets, and no reservation fees or online-order commissions.

Strengths: CRM, marketing and operations tooling.

Limitations: you must go through sales to get a price, and its FAQ says onboarding takes "a few weeks". See our SevenRooms comparison.

OpenTable

Suits: venues whose covers depend on being found by new diners.

Pricing model: Core and Pro plans with prices on request, per-cover fees only on seated diners found through OpenTable, and a one-year contract. Details are in our OpenTable alternatives guide.

Strengths: a consumer diner marketplace that sends you new guests.

Limitations: no published UK price, and a contract that auto-renews annually.

Access Collins Evo

Suits: bars, pubs and venues that want DesignMyNight exposure. It is made by The Access Group, the same owner as ResDiary.

Pricing model: from £149 a month per site, according to Access's booking page. It offers deposits through Collins Pay and API access.

Limitations: it is a different product from ResDiary rather than a different supplier, and the page's conversion claims (a 24% average uplift) are vendor figures.

TablePort

Suits: restaurants that want reservations, POS, kitchen display, QR order and pay and stock in one system, and do not want a separate booking subscription.

Pricing model: Reservations is £49 per location per month ex VAT, with no per-cover fees and no set-up fee. The POS starts at £49 a month, and there is a 30-day free trial with no card. Deposits are set per shift and card processing is charged separately. The AI phone agent can take bookings by phone around the clock.

Limitations: TablePort is a newer company (founded 2021) with a smaller installed base than ResDiary, and it has no consumer marketplace, so it will not bring you new diners. You supply your own iPad or Android tablet.

Comparison table

Entry price (ex VAT where stated)Pricing basisCommission or per-cover feeSet-up feeIncludes POS
ResDiary£109 a monthBooking tiersNone£99No (integration £10)
resOSFree, then £39 a month (VAT not stated)Booking tiersNoneNone listedNo
Tablein£60 a month (VAT not stated)Included reservations, overageNone listedNoneNo
Eat AppFree, then about £74 a monthFeature tiersNone listedNone listedIntegration add-on
SevenRoomsNot publishedThree packagesNone on reservationsOne-time feeNo
OpenTableNot publishedCore and ProPer seated network dinerNot statedNo
Access Collins EvoFrom £149 a month per sitePer siteNone listedNot statedNo
TablePort£49 a month ex VATPer locationNoneNoneYes, POS from £49 ex VAT

How to switch from ResDiary

  1. Check your notice terms first. Find your order form and ResDiary's Core Terms and diarise the notice date. Notice must be emailed.
  2. Export your guest data. ResDiary's FAQ says the venue is the data controller. Ask support for a CSV of guests, notes, tags and booking history.
  3. Keep marketing consent intact. Only move email and SMS marketing contacts who opted in, and carry the consent record across. The ICO's guidance on electronic marketing explains the rules.
  4. Migrate future bookings. Export confirmed bookings for the next 90 days with their deposit status. Check how deposits already paid through Stripe will be honoured, as that is the awkward part. resOS and TablePort both import bookings from a previous system, and resOS accepts CSV upload.
  5. Run both books in parallel for a week. Keep ResDiary live for existing dates, point the new widget at your website and Google profile, then close the old one.
  6. Update every link. Website button, Google Business Profile, Instagram and any email footers.

Frequently asked questions

How much does ResDiary cost in the UK?

As listed on ResDiary's pricing page in October 2026, plans cost £109, £145, £205 and £295 a month plus VAT, with caps of 150, 450, 1,000 and unlimited bookings. A £99 set-up fee applies, and add-ons cost £10 to £35 a month each.

Is there a free alternative to ResDiary?

Yes. resOS has a free plan for up to 25 bookings a month and Eat App lists a free plan limited to 100 guests a month. Both are fine for a very small venue. See our free restaurant booking system guide.

Does ResDiary charge commission?

ResDiary describes its bookings as commission-free. It does charge a 1.2% surcharge on deposits and payments and 3% on gift vouchers, plus Stripe fees where they apply.

Which ResDiary alternative has the lowest listed price?

For a venue with under 350 bookings a month, resOS Basic at £39 is the lowest paid price among the systems listed here. For higher volumes, compare Tablein Success (£157) with resOS Unlimited (£119) on your own booking numbers.

Can I move my ResDiary bookings to a new system?

Usually yes for guest data and future bookings, via CSV or a vendor-assisted import. Confirm the format with your new supplier before you give notice.

Can one system replace both ResDiary and my POS?

Only if the new supplier has its own till. TablePort does, and you can read how it compares in our restaurant booking system guide. Most others on this list are booking-only and connect to your existing POS.

Run the whole restaurant from one system.

POS, reservations, kitchen display, stock and an AI phone agent on one login and one bill.